Sunday 29 January 2017

Australia Day 2017 Honours List

Three members of the Ivanhoe community were among almost 1000 people honoured on 26 January 2017 by the Governor General of Australia, General Sir Peter Cosgrove AK, MC.

A diverse group of Australians were honoured, from entertainers to scientists and sporting heroes. The Ivanhoe community members to be recognised in 2017 are: The Honourable John Brumby AO, Roland Jabbour OAM and Philip Pringuer AFSM.

The Honours list is separated into three gazettes, Order of Australia, Meritorious and Distinguished and Conspicuous.

The Honourable John Brumby was awarded an AO for distinguished service to the Parliament of Victoria, to economic management and medical biotechnology innovation, to improved rural and regional infrastructure, and to the community. The Honourable John Brumby graduated from the School in 1969 and is a member of the School’s Gallery of Achievement. It was lovely to see John on campus during the centenary celebrations in 2015.

Roland Jabbour was awarded an OAM for service to commerce and industry, and to Australian-Arab relations. Roland is the father of Old Ivanhoe Grammarian Councillor Claude Jabbour who graduated in 2004.

Philip Pringuer was awarded an AFSM (Australian Fire service Medal) which is an individual award and is awarded for distinguished service by members of a State or Territory Fire Service. He is the father of Year 10 student, Pippa and Tom who will be commencing Year 7 this year.

It is wonderful to see these Ivanhoe community members receive recognition through these highly esteemed awards for all the hard work and dedication they have put into their respective fields. A big congratulations to all three of them.